

SBTC Washington Membership Meeting June 12, 2018

<u>AGENDA</u>

10:00AM – Introductions & Coffee

10:30AM – Congressional Panel

-Kevin Wheeler – Deputy Staff Director, Senate Small Business Committee -Renee Bender – Professional Staffer, Senate Small Business Committee -Halimah Locke – Professional Staffer, House Small Business Committee

12:00PM – Awards

 -Presentation of 2018 Champions of Small Business Technology Commercialization Awards
-Presentation of Small Business Advocacy Lifetime Achievement Awards

12:30PM – Agency SBIR/STTR Panel

-Manny Oliver – DOE SBIR/STTR Program Manager -Jennifer Shieh – White House Office of Science & Technology Policy (OSTP) -Dr. Charles Cleland – USDA SBIR/STTR Program Leader



2018 Champion of Small Business Technology Commercialization Winners

The following winners of the Small Business Technology Council's 2018 "Champion of Small Business Technology Commercialization" Awards represent some of the best PMs, PEOs, and COs in government. They were nominated by SBIR/STTR firms for going above and beyond in helping small businesses through the process of pursuing commercialization/follow-on awards such as SBIR Phase III, Phase IIB/Bridge, or RIF (or other post-Phase II commercialization contracts).

All of these winners were praised for their leadership, knowledge, and diligence in working to advocate for and assist small business in receiving the resources they need to advance their technologies, while at the same time meeting the needs of the agency they work for. The SBIR program is a partnership between small business and government, and without their assistance, many of the high-tech innovations these companies will produce would never have had the chance to succeed.

Beth Atkinson

Senior Research Psychologist US Navy

Brian Bard

Program Manager, Administration for Community Living Health & Human Services

Lee Ann Boyer Program Manager, Navy CRP US Navy

Dr. Charles Cleland SBIR National Program Lead US Department of Agriculture, NIFA

Jerry "Rodney" Couick Staff Director Region 5, General Services Administration

Dr. Arden Dougan

Program Director, Safeguards Technology Development Program Department of Energy

David Franck

Program Manager, ePLM IDE, Naval Surface Warfare Center US Navy

Tracy Frost

Director, DOD Manufacturing Technology Department of Defense

Emily Harman

Director, Naval Office of Small Business Programs US Navy

Craig Owens Principal SBIR Program Manager Lockheed Martin

Dr. Khanh Pham Senior Aerospace Engineer, AFRL US Air Force

Jerry Provenza Program Manager, AFRL US Air Force

James Sweeney Technology Lead, Air Force CRP US Air Force

Carlos Torrez SBIR/STTR Program Manager National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Small Business Champion of Innovation Award

Renee Bender

Professional Staffer US Senate Committee on Small Business & Entrepreneurship

Small Business Lifetime Achievement Awards

Emily Murphy

Administrator General Services Administration

"For a lifetime of work in consistently improving Small Business Access to Federal Contracting at the DoD and across the Federal Government."

Allen Baker

Senior Policy Analyst, SBIR/STTR Program

US Navy

"For a Lifetime of work in advocating for and improving the SBIR/STTR programs at the Navy, DOD, and across the Federal Government."