1156 15th St NW Suite 1100 Washington, DC 20005 www.sbtc.org



Robert Schmidt Chairman

Jere Glover Executive Director

> Larry Nannis Treasurer

Kevin Burns New England Regional Chair

Matt Oristano Joseph Schwartz Mid-Atlantic Regional Chair

Ash Thakker Southeast Regional Chair

Mary Delahunty Southwest Regional Chair

Russ Farmer Mountain Regional Chair

Michael Browne Pacific Regional Chair

> Roy Keller State Liaison

Paul Donovan Michael Squillante NIH Committee Co-Chairs

Ash Thakker Phase III Committee Chair

> Russ Farmer DCAA Committee Chair

The Small Business Technology Council offers its strong support for the Shaheen-Vitter "SBIR and STTR Reauthorization and Improvement Act of 2016". The SBIR/STTR programs are an invaluable component of America's economy, and one of the few sources of R&D funding for high-tech small businesses. This bill will help even more promising small businesses develop the next generation of cutting-edge technologies, while creating more jobs in high-tech fields.

We commend the Senate Committee on Small Business and its members for the effort they have put into creating this bill, and in particular for the bipartisan leadership of Chairman David Vitter and Ranking Member Jeanne Shaheen. As members of the SBIR community, we are truly grateful for all their work in making sure the SBIR and STTR programs continue to provide small businesses with the funding resources they need to drive American innovation, and we hope that this bill is passed soon.

Jere W. Glover Executive Director Small Business Technology Council

