1156 15th St NW Suite 1100 Washington, DC 20005 www.sbtc.org



Robert Schmidt Chairman

Jere Glover Executive Director

> Larry Nannis Treasurer

Kevin Burns New England Regional Chair

Matt Oristano Joseph Schwartz Mid-Atlantic Regional Chair

> Ash Thakker Southeast Regional Chair

Mary Delahunty Southwest Regional Chair

Russ Farmer Mountain Regional Chair

Michael Browne Pacific Regional Chair

> Roy Keller State Liaison

Paul Donovan Michael Squillante NIH Committee Co-Chairs

Ash Thakker Phase III Committee Chair

> Russ Farmer DCAA Committee Chair

The Honorable David Vitter
Chairman
US Senate Committee on Small Business &
Entrepreneurship
428A Russell Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen Ranking Member US Senate Committee on Small Business & Entrepreneurship 428A Russell Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Vitter and Ranking Member Shaheen,

The Small Business Technology Council, and the undersigned SBIR small businesses, strongly supports S 2792, the "Rapid Innovation Fund Enhancement Act of 2016". In the 4+ years since it was first created, the RIF program has already demonstrated its usefulness to America's military in identifying and accelerating promising technologies to fielded systems of record. In addition, the program fulfills a critical need for small businesses seeking funding to help develop their technologies in an economy where commercialization funding is increasingly scarce. SBTC's 2015 survey of RIF recipients showed that 81% could not have advanced their technology without the funds they received from RIF. The improvements and funding increases in this bill will further strengthen this program and help it continue to nurture the next generation of high-tech small businesses.

The SBTC and the members of the SBIR community it represents greatly appreciate the work Senate Committee on Small Business and its members have put into creating this bill, and in particular for the bipartisan leadership of Chairman David Vitter and Ranking Member Jeanne Shaheen. The DOD SBIR community is grateful to the attention paid by the committee to this relatively new innovation program, and we hope that S 2792 is swiftly passed and enacted.

Sincerely,

Jere W. Glover

Executive Director

Small Business Technology Council

Robert Schmidt

Chairman

Small Business Technology Council



Signatory Companies

James Kevin Burns

President

Precision Combustion, Inc.

North Haven, CT

ML Mackey

CEO & Co-founder

Beacon Interactive Systems

Waltham, MA

Dr. Michael D. Evans

Vice President SA Photonics, Inc. Lexington, MA

Michael Browne, Ph.D.

General Manager SA Photonics

Los Gatos, CA

Gordon Drew

Sr. Vice President Finance, CFO Physical Optics Corporation

Torrance, CA

B. David Green, PhD

President and CEO

Physical Sciences Inc. Andover, MA

Robert Kline-Schoder, Ph.D.

President Creare LLC

Hanover, NH

Ross Haghighat

CEO

Triton Systems Inc.

Chelmsford, MA

Mark Allen

Chair, New England Innovation Alliance, and

Executive Vice-President, Applied Sciences

Physical Sciences Inc.

Andover, MA

Ron Shroder

CEO and President

Frontier Technology, Inc.

Beavercreek, OH

Andrew Sherman

President/Founder

Powdermet Inc

Euclid, OH

Elizabeth Frayne, PhD

President

Frayne Consultants

La Mirada, CA

R. Lawrence Ives

President

Calabazas Creek Research, Inc.

San Mateo, CA

Ms. Marti Elder, CLP

Marti Elder Inc.

Bozeman, MT

Dr. Michael L. Dingus

Vice President

Texas Research Institute Austin, Inc.

Austin, TX

Alan B. Cain, PhD

President

Innovative Technology Applications Co.

Chesterfield, MO



Dr. Stuart Farquharson President & CEO Real-Time Analyzers, Inc. Middletown, CT

Dr. Robert B. Owen
Principal scientist
Extreme Diagnostics, Inc.
Boulder CO

Carl Pompei Executive Vice President, CFO AnthroTronix, Inc. Silver Spring, MD

Jim Greenwood President Greenwood Consulting Group, Inc. Sanibel, FL

Jian Liu, Ph.D Founder PolarOnyx, Inc. San Jose, CA

Ilene Godsey Vice President of Operations Intelligent Automation, Inc. Rockville, MD

Walter J. Keller Chief Executive Officer Nokomis, Inc.

James T. Woo President InterScience, Inc. Troy, NY

Charleroi, PA

Sara S. Johnson, Ph.D.
Co-President & CEO
Pro-Change Behavior Systems, Inc.
South Kingstown, RI

Kenneth J. Thurber President Architecture Technology Corporation Eden Prairie, MN

Douglas Sweet Vice President, Modeling and Simulation Architecture Technology Corporation Campbell, CA

Michael Usrey Vice President Sporian Microsystems, Inc. Lafayette, CO

Bruce D Weintraub, MD President , CEO & Cofounder Trophogen, Inc Rockville, MD

John R. Cary CEO Tech-X Corporation Boulder, CO

Sharon E Black CEO/President Blacksmith Multi-Media, Inc. Montgomery, AL

Andrew Einhorn, M.S. President Synoptos Inc. Reston, VA

Daniel Crawford President Control Vision, Inc. Sahuarita, AZ

Jason Ogle General Counsel Knowledge Based Systems, Inc. College Station, TX



H.M. (Hap) Stoller President & CEO TPL, Inc.

Albuquerque, NM

John C. Burns President/CEO

Eagle 6 Technical Services, LLC

Orlando, FL

John Davis

CEO and General Manager JADE Research Corporation

Severna Park, MD

Dr. O.A.Voronov,

President

Diamond Materials, Incorporated

East Stroudsburg, PA

Hooshang Heshmat, PhD

President & CEO/ Technical Director Mohawk Innovative Technology,

Inc. (MiTi®) Albany NY

Mark Henry President

Grow Emerging Companies LLC

Depoe Bay, OR

Hani Kayyali President

Cleveland Medical Devices Inc.

Cleveland, OH

Dr. Joseph Giuffrida

President

Great Lakes NeuroTechnologies Inc.

Valley View, OH

Tatjana Zikov President

NeuroWave Systems Inc. Cleveland Heights, OH Dr. Frederick Lisy

President

Orbital Research Inc.

Cleveland, OH

Ed Rapp President Flocel Inc. Cleveland, OH

Dr. Damir Janigro Acting CEO

FloStroke Inc. Cleveland, OH

Doug Vincent President & CEO

VentriFlo™ True Pulse Pumps -- Design

Mentor, Inc. Pelham, NH

Dr. Charles Jacobus

CEO

Cybernet Systems Corporation

Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Charles Nardo President

Toyon Research Corporation

Goleta, CA 93117

Alison Brown President and CEO NAVSYS Corporation Colorado Springs

Laura Z. Dion President

AQYR Technologies, Inc.

Hollis, NH

Edward B. (Brad) Perkins

President

EZ-A Consulting, LLC

Bel Air, MD



Karen Harper President Charles River Analytics Inc. Cambridge, MA

Eric D. Park Vice President Q-Peak Bedford, MA

E. Jennings Taylor Founder & Chief Technology Officer Faraday Technology Inc. Englewood, OH

Alan Stanton President Southwest Sciences, Inc. Santa Fe, NM

Dr. Joel Silver Executive Vice President Southwest Sciences, Inc. Santa Fe, NM

Sally Draper President & CEO QuickFlex, Inc. San Antonio, TX

Rosalyn Liss Principal CBT4CBT, LLC New Haven, CT

Radek Sobczynski, Ph.D. CTO Chemled Technologies, LLC Orange, CT

Arturo Pilar President Ciencia, Inc. East Hartford, CT Mark Kline, Ph.D. CTO and Co-Founder Xiaoxi Wei, Ph.D. CEO and Founder X-Therma Inc. Vallejo, CA

Kelvin GM Brockbank, PhD CEO Tissue Testing Technologies LLC North Charleston, SC

Dr. Trent Molter President & CEO Sustainable Innovations, LLC East Hartford, CT

Joseph M. Backer, Ph.D. Chief Executive Officer SibTech, Inc. Brookfield, CT

Michael Sahm, Ph.D. Principal Energy Analytics, LLC Avon, CT

Andrew Timmerman President Fairfield Crystal Technology New Milford, CT

Kevin Caldwell President & CEO Ossium Health, Inc North Charleston, SC

Sudipto Ghoshal COO and VP, Engineering Qualtech Systems, Inc. Rocky Hill, CT

Peter Frischmann Co-Founder Sepion Technologies, Inc.



San Francisco, CA

Peter Van Buskirk GM & Managing Partner Sonata LLC Bethel, CT

Dr. Jay L. Hirshfield President Omega-P R&D, Inc. New Haven, CT

Krishna R. Pattipati Chairman/CEO Qualtech Systems, Inc. Rocky Hill, CT

Sebastian Giwa, PhD President and CEO Sylvatica Biotech Inc Charleston, SC

John Violette RCT President & Chief Engineer Rotating Composite Technologies Kensington, CT